ROBERTA TAMONDONG BEAMS WITH PRIDE OVER MISS ECO TEEN INTERNATIONAL WIN

Our very own Roberta Tamandong has finally arrived back in our country after winning the Miss Eco Teen International 2020 pageant in Egypt last weekend. She was welcomed at Ninoy Aquino International Airport Terminal by Miss World Philippines Organization National Director Arnold Vegafria and her mentor, Rodgil Flores, from Kagandahang Flores Camp. 

Her win marks another milestone in the field of pageantry as our nation asserts its dominance as a beauty powerhouse in the world. 
Tamondong bested 18 candidates to become the first Filipina teen to win during the sophomore edition of the pageant last weekend at the Hurghada Resort in Cairo, Egypt.


“Actually, ang totoong Christmas gift ko before I land in Egypt was to bring home the crown,” the humble 18-year-old statuesque revealed during her homecoming press conference in Quezon City. “And I am happy nagkakatotoo naman and I hope you all like my Christmas gift to you,” she added.


Tamondong’s victory is fourth title for the Miss World Philippines (MWP) organization, following the footsteps of her fellow MWP sisters, Reina Hispanoamericana 2017 Teresita Marquez and Miss Multinational 2018 Sophia Señoron and Miss Eco International 2017 Cynthia Thomalla. Even at such a young age, Tamondong, a Laguna native, has been considered a pageant veteran having competed in other local pageants before getting appointed for this title. She was in the process of submitting her application form for MWP when she got the call from Sir Arnold Vegafria to compete around third week of November.

While she already has the looks and experience, Tamondong insisted that she had to undergo rigorous training to be on top of her game. And this was where Sir Rodgil Flores of Kagandang Flores Camp who came in very handy for her. “I have been training with Sir Rodgil since I was 13,” she revealed. “I credit him for the all of this.”


Sir Rodgil Flores, who was also in attendance during the press conference, also couldn’t hide his joy for his ward who is now an international beauty titleholder.


Yes, it’s true what she said. She has been training with me since when she was 13 years old and at that time, I already saw her huge potential back then. And kitang-kita nyo naman yung stage presence niya (in all her previous pageants and it was all due to her five years of training with me. I congratulate her for this. She has a bigger responsibility now,” the world-class beauty queen maker said.


Despite this pandemic, her week-long preparation and fighting spirit, however, persevered and she credits her team for being with her all the way despite the short notice. 
Her glam team is nothing to be sneezed at. They are composed of Jhong Sudlon (designer), Elron Young (hair/make up artist), Sam Sapo (finance/marketing), Sam Pelaez (stylist), Jojo Bragais (shoes), Nathan Sison (Q&A mentor), Ryan Java (talent coach) with the guidance of her longtime mentor, Sir Rodgil Flores.
To be honest, they have been congratulating me for this but I have been telling them instead na they should also congratulate themselves (for a job well done) because if it weren’t for them, I would not have made it. Nakita nyo naman sa mga nangyari…despite being miles away from them during this time of pandemic, we made it all work.”

With a strong support system, it still wasn’t enough for the former Mutya ng San Pablo Laguna to be fully confident about her chances especially after arriving in her host country.

“To be honest, all throughout my journey, there was always a certain doubt on myself whether I would win or not. Especially upon arrival, I was so scared about the thought of not winning or tripping or simply not being good enough,” she revealed.

But luckily, with everyone’s encouraging words on social media and Law Of Attraction advice from Mama Jhong, my Q&A mentor…na if you manifest it, makukuha mo yung crown na gusto mo so always be positive and always pray and to never lose faith in yourself that you will perform in the best of your ability,” she said.

So she followed their advice and the rest is history.

Now that the crown is sitting pretty on her head, Tamondong  is more excited to fulfill her duties as the newly crowned Miss Eco Teen International , and consequently, as part of her prize, as United Nations Ambassador for environment and eco tourism.


I am so excited about this as I will now be able to spread my advocacy which is pressing awareness about a lot of environmental issues to the youth. And I plan to harness the power of social media in disseminating information to them and that would be my main focus,” she said.


“But more than that, I would really want to change people’s mindset and changing our lifestyle. I know it is very difficult to do since we are in a pandemic right now and it’s hard for all of us to adjust but trust me, it’s for the betterment of the world. As a teen, our Earth is deteriorating from the Amazon forest burning and icecaps melting and I think it’s about time we stand up and unite against what’s happening in our environment,” she added.

And soon, it will be a lot of travel for this 5’9 Miss San Beda stunner , whose pageant prize also include an exclusive diplomatic passport with a five- year validity apart from winning USD4000.00 cash prize.
Mr Arnold Vegafria, Miss World Philippines national director, has disclosed this to the press conference wherein he revealed that his ward will be shuttling back and forth to Egypt during her reign.


Being Miss Eco International’s homebase, Tamondong will see herself working with its team as it starts with its coral reef rehabilitation project in preserving Egypt’: major marine tertiaries.


Looks like I’ll be shuttling back and forth to Egypt within the year, especially in March (2021), when I’ve been tasked to host the next edition of Miss Eco International pageant,” she also revealed. 


“Apart from signing up with a movie company and apparel brand here, what I am excited about for Roan right now is her 5-year ambassadorship with the United Nations. As we all know, Miss Eco international is the only (pageant system)  accredited by the UN and it’s really a big deal for me considering we are not talking about a one-year ambassadorship but five years,” Vegafria said.

The latest beauty pride of the Philippines just couldn’t wait to jumpstart her reign and wished all the people to be with her in this new chapter of her life.

Thank you for all your support, guys. I am thankful to have met all of you. I  really can’t wait to meet and get to know all of you because I have a feeling you will all be part of my life forever,” she ended.

Photos taken from: Joy Arguil Of Fab Philippines Facebook Page

Leave a comment